Monday, June 29, 2009


The FIFA Confederations Cup is an association football tournament for national teams, currently held every four years by FIFA. It is contested by the winners of each of the six FIFA confederation championships (CAF, CONMEBOL, UEFA, AFC, OFC, CONCACAF), along with the FIFA World Cup winner and the host country, to bring the number of teams up to eight.

Countries which took part in the 2009's tournament:
(14 June 09 - 28 June 09)
1.South Africa - 2010 FIFA World Cup Host
2.Italy - 2006 FIFA World Cup Winner
3.USA - 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup Winner
4.Brazil - 2007 Copa America Winner
5.Iraq - 2007 AFC Asian Cup Winner
6.Egypt - 2008 African Cup of Nations Winner
7.Spain - 2008 UEFA Euro Cup Winner
8.New Zealand - OFC Nations Cup Winner

Group A
South Africa 0-0 Iraq
New Zealand 0-5 Spain

Spain 1-0 Iraq
South Africa 2-0 New Zealand

Iraq 0-0 New Zealand
Spain 2-0 South Africa

Group B
Brazil 4-3 Egypt
USA 1-3 Italy

USA 0-3 Brazil
Egypt 1-0 Italy

Italy 0-3 Brazil
Egypt 0-3 USA

Semi Finals
Spain 0-2 USA
Brazil 1-0 South Africa

Third Place
Spain 3-2 South Africa (ET)

USA 2-3 Brazil

No comments: